Fort Bend County Statutory Rape Lawyer
Sexual Conduct with a Child Under 17 Years Old
In the state of Texas, it is illegal to have sexual intercourse with someone
who is younger than 17 years old. This offense is known as "statutory
rape." Anyone who is younger than 17 years old is not considered
to be capable of giving legal consent for sex, which means that anyone
who has intercourse with someone who is 16 or younger can be charged with a
At the Law Office of Steven Rocket Rosen, my team understands the serious
nature of your charges. My firm can provide the urgent attention and aggressive
defense that you need in order to avoid a conviction. Statutory rape is
charged as "sexual assault" under
Texas Penal Code § 22.011, or "aggravated sexual assault" under
Tex. Pen. Code § 22.021 if the child suffered bodily injury or death.
Texas Penalties for Statutory Rape
Statutory rape can be charged as either a second-degree felony or a first-degree
felony. If charged as a felony in the second degree, statutory rape will
incur a fine of up to $10,000, 2 – 20 years in prison, or both.
If charged as a felony in the first degree, statutory rape will result
in a fine of up to $10,000, a prison sentence of 5 – 99 years, or
both. If the child was under 6 years old, or was younger than 14 and suffered
serious bodily injury, then the minimum prison sentence is 25 years.
Charged with statutory rape? Contact my firm!
Don't take chances if you have been accused of or charged with statutory
rape – consult a Fort Bend County sex crime lawyer right away. The
Law Office of Steven Rocket Rosen can provide the relentless defense that
you need in order to avoid a harmful conviction. I have over 20 years
of experience in criminal defense and, as a former prosecutor, I can provide
unique insight and a strong edge in your defense.
Contact my firm today at (713) 227-2900 to discuss your case!