Fort Bend County BWI Lawyer
Arrested for Boating While Intoxicated? Call Our Firm Today!
According to Texas law, it is illegal to operate a watercraft with a blood
alcohol content of .08% or higher. A watercraft is defined any motorized
craft that can carry a person over water and does not include any vehicle
that is propelled by human power, such as a canoe, rowboat, kayak, or
Although BWI and DWI charges are similar, a peace officer does not have
to have reasonable suspicion or probable cause to stop a watercraft in
Texas waters. A police officer may board a watercraft at any time for
safety and security purposes and, if you have been drinking, you may be
facing serious fines and/or penalties.
Get a Fort Bend County BWI Attorney on Your Side
For more than 30 years, the Fort Bend County criminal lawyer at the
Law Office of Steven Rocket Rosen has been assisting clients with BWI and DWI crimes. I also help defend
clients who are facing domestic violence charges, internet crime charges,
juvenile crime charges, and various other types of criminal charges. I
am a criminal defense specialist who has been certified by the Texas Board
of Legal Specialization and I am fully equipped and prepared to help minimize
a client's criminal charges, or have their case dismissed. If you
have been charged and/or arrested for boating while intoxicated in Texas, please
contact my firm.
Penalties of Boating While Intoxicated in Harris and Fort Bend County
Texas is known to have more square miles of inland water than any other
state in the U.S. With this vast amount of water, however, the State of
Texas has a plethora of boating while intoxicated laws.
Individuals who have not received any prior BWI convictions may be fined
up to $2,000 and may be sentenced to jail for up to 180 days. A
second conviction may lead to a person being fined up to $4,000 and up to 1 year in jail, while a
third conviction may carry a fine up to $10,000 and a jail sentence that can last anywhere
from 2 to 10 years.
Individuals who are operating vessels that have an engine
over 50 horsepower and are found to be intoxicated will have their license automatically
suspended. Depending on a person's situation, a judge may require
an individual to perform probation related conditions such as classes,
treatment, volunteer hours, and MADD programs.
Proving BWI in Texas
An officer can stop a boat and test the driver for suspected impairment
at any time. In Texas, officers can check a boat for safety floatation
devices, and then has the ability to conduct a sobriety test based on
certain factors they witness while being onboard said watercraft.
To determine if a person is boating while intoxicated, an officer may perform
multiple sobriety tests on the water, and if the driver shows signs of
being intoxicated, the officer may investigate the driver on land. Common
sobriety tests used on the water are reciting the alphabet and divided
attention tests, which may include hand-palm touches or a finger count.
Prior to performing a sobriety test on land, an officer must wait 15 minutes
to allow a person to regain their equilibrium.
Contact a Fort Bend County BWI Attorney
Have you been charged or arrested for boating while intoxicated in Fort
Bend County? Please contact my firm for sound
criminal defense. I am also able to assist with
ALR Hearings to protect your right to drive. I have more than 3 decades worth of DWI
and BWI experience and I may challenge the evidence of your BWI charge
to minimize or dismiss the charges that have been brought against you.