Fort Bend County Commercial Driver DWI Defense Attorneys
Protecting the Rights of Commercial Drivers in Texas
If you are a commercial driver and have been charged with driving while intoxicated, you need to contact an attorney immediately. Texas takes drunk driving very seriously, and you could be facing serious penalties if you are convicted of DWI. You could even lose your commercial license and be unable to work if you are convicted. At Rosen & Kovach, PLLC, we have a team of criminal defense attorneys who are ready to fight for you and your future.
What Happens if I Am Convicted of DWI as a Commercial Driver?
Although the legal limit for non-commercial drivers is a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent, the legal limit for commercial driver's license (CDL) holders is .04 percent when operating a commercial vehicle.
If you are convicted of DWI as a commercial driver, you could face a Class B misdemeanor charge, which could result in a fine of up to $2,000, jail time of up to 180 days, or both. Additionally, your CDL will be disqualified for 1 year (or 3 years, if transporting hazardous materials at the time of the arrest). A second or subsequent offense can result in lifetime CDL disqualification.
Remember, you could lose your CDL if your BAC if at least .08 percent while driving your personal vehicle.
Contact Our Team for a Free Consultation
If you are a commercial driver who has been charged with driving while intoxicated, Rosen & Kovach, PLLC is here to help. We have years of experience successfully defending clients against drunk driving charges. We are prepared to work hard to protect your rights and your future.
"John made things happen!"
John Kovach represented me in two cases in which both were dismissed and jail time was avoided.- Katelyn