Notice:
DUE TO COVID-19, PHONE CONSULTATIONS ARE AVAILABLE TO ALL POTENTIAL CLIENTS AND CURRENT CLIENTS THAT PREFER NOT TO MEET ONSITE. PLEASE DON’T HESITATE TO CALL US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS!

Rosen & Kovach, PLLC

Call Today 281.232.0505
Highly Skilled & Experienced Defense Contact Our Firm Today to Challenge Your DWI Charge

Fort Bend County DWI Attorney

Protecting Your Future with 40+ Years' Experience

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a very serious offense. Local Fort Bend County law enforcement work hard to ensure that drivers are operating under safe conditions and to keep the roadway free of drunk or drugged drivers by always being on the lookout for intoxicated behavior. Routine traffic stops and driving while intoxicated (DWI) checkpoints have become more common over the years, and in 2010, more than 90,000 people were arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, we understand what is at stake. Should you hire the legal services provided at our firm, you will see firsthand the dedication I have for each case. We have 40 years of combined legal experience and will work tirelessly to secure a favorable outcome on your behalf.

If you've been arrested and charged with DWI in Fort Bend County, put us on your side by calling (281) 232-0505 today.

DWI Penalties in Texas

In Texas, a person is considered legally intoxicated and can be arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08% or greater. However, a person can be considered impaired by drugs or alcohol regardless of their BAC. Under Texas law, whether you are the driver or the passenger you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

Under Texas Penal Code §49.04, drunk or drugged driving laws clearly state that any person operating a vehicle under the influence of a substance that can greatly impair their judgment, driving skills and reaction time may be charged with a DWI.

First DWI Offense

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • From 3 days to 180 days in jail
  • Up to one year driver's license suspension
  • Annual fee ranging between $1,000 and $2,000 for three years to retain your driver's license

Second DWI Offense

  • Up to $4,000 fine
  • One month to one year in jail
  • Up to two years loss of driver's license
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain your driver's license

Third DWI Offense

  • A fine of $10,000
  • From 2 to 10 years in prison
  • Up to two years loss of driver's license
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain your driver's license

When a driver has two or more DWI convictions within a five year time period, they are required to install a special ignition switch that prevents their vehicle from operating if they have been drinking.

Whether you've been arrested for a first time DWI offense, BWI or felony DWI, there are a number of DWI offenses that may apply to your case. With over 30 years experience working in criminal law and as a former prosecutor, I am fully prepared to aggressively defend your case. To challenge your DWI charges and fight for your driving privileges, I urge you to contact me at the Rosen & Kovach, PLLC right away!

What are the Penalties for a First Time DWI?

There is no question that being arrested for DWI (driving while intoxicated) is a very serious offense in the state of Texas. If you are convicted of a first time DWI you may face penalties including up to 180 days in jail, fines up to $2,000 and the mandatory revocation of your driver's license for at least 90 days.

When you consult with a Fort Bend County DWI lawyer at the Rosen & Kovach, PLLC you are getting more than 30 years’ experience on your side. When it comes to your defense, you can count on the fact that we are am committed to doing everything possible to see that your rights are protected and your freedom is preserved.

Defense for Charges of Driving Under the Influence

DWI charges can severely alter a person's life. After an arrest and charge for driving while intoxicated, you must retain legal counsel of a dedicated DWI attorney in Fort Bend County. Regardless of the offense, whether this is your first DWI charge, you are a repeat offender, or you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) under the age of 21, our firm can help.

Although you cannot plead to a lesser offense in the state of Texas, you may be able to protect your driving privileges at an ALR hearing. These hearings happen quickly after your arrest, and you only have 10 days after your arrest to retain legal counsel before the hearing, so it is imperative that you work with our firm right away.

Ensuring Your Rights are Protected After DWI Charges

When you work with Rosen & Kovach, PLLC, we will challenge the evidence of the DWI charge and fight for your freedoms and ensure that you rights are protected. Even if you are charged with a felony DWI, multiple DWI or intoxicated manslaughter, you can rest assured that your case will be in good hands. We have 40 years of combined legal experience in assisting clients achieve a favorable outcome for their criminal cases.

If you have questions or concerns regarding your situation and how working with Rosen & Kovach can greatly benefit your case, do not hesitate to contact our firm today. We offer free case evaluations to all potential clients that are risk free and confidential.

Facing charges for DWI? Contact a Fort Bend County DWI attorney from my firm and schedule your appointment!

CRIMINAL ACCUSATIONS CAN BE DEVASTATING

You Need a Fighter on Your Side
  • Texas Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist

  • Rated AV Preeminent® by Martindale-Hubbell®

  • Experienced as a Former Texas Prosecutor

  • Defended More Than 10 Capital Murder Cases

  • Licensed to Practice in the U.S. Supreme Court

  • Admitted to Practice in All of the State Courts in Texas

  • Licensed in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

  • Featured on Various National News Networks & Shows

Notable Case Results

Put Our Courtroom Success on Your Side
  • No Prison Time Heroin Possession (Harris County)
  • Case Dismissed Aggravated Assault (Fort Bend County)
  • Probation, No Federal Prison Time Manufacturing & Distributing Synthetic Marijuana (Federal Court)
  • Deferred Adjudication, No Prison Time Aggravated Assault (Fort Bend County)
  • Reduced Sentence Aggravated Robbery (Brazoria County)

Contact Us Today

All Case Evaluations Are Free and Confidential
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.